Jambrea’s Weblog

September 11, 2008

Remembering

Filed under: Miscellaneous — jambrea @ 10:19 am

Do you remember what you were doing 7 years ago today?

I was heading to work when I heard the news.  The local radio station had stopped everything and I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.  This couldn’t be possible.  Not in America.  I finally got to work and everyone was huddled around the TV so I went to join and I could not believe my eyes, but there it was.  I remember feeling sick to my stomach all day long with my thoughts on all the needless destruction.  My heart still cries for all those families who lost a love one and I am sometimes haunted by thoughts of the people stuck in those building who just went to work like any other day.  And the people on the planes who had to watch as they crashed into the towers.

I also think of all the heros of the day.  Not many of them would call themselves heros, but that is just the kind of people they are.  We really do need more heros in this world.

So today, just take a minute to realize how lucky we are to be alive.  Also take a minute to give thanks to the heros in your life and remember the loss so it is not forgotten.

1 Comment »

  1. I was conducting a meeting at home with a friend/coworker. She’d brought her kids. We had no tv at the time so the dial up internet and the radio were my only sources of information.

    The thing I remember the most? I wanted to stop everything and listen to all the news. Find a tv, find a vehicle and … do something. Just something.

    But there was my coworker trying to get us to the bottom of the to do list, four children under 6 racing around and…

    Although it felt like the world should stop it refused to. I still cooked supper that day, Put the kids to bed and cried as I thought of the families missing their loved ones. Still had to put together reports and wash clothes and keep living.

    It was the right thing to do. Because the heroes of the day would have said not continuing would have meant the bad guys won.

    So we continue. But, yes Jambrea, we remember.

    Comment by Viv Arend — September 11, 2008 @ 12:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

